Please see below a list of opportunities and contact information for faculty that are accepting applications for PhD opportunities (fully funded) at the University of Miami’s Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science. Deadline for submission is January 1st:

Assistantship Title Department Faculty Email

Iceberg Monitoring from Space OCE Hans Graber hgraber@cstars.miami.edu

Harnessing sexual reproduction to develop and test interventions to increase coral resilience MBE Andrew Baker a hgraber@cstars.miami.edu baker@rsmas.miami.edu

Evolution of Innate Immunity in Ctenophores MBE Nikki Traylor-Knowles ntraylorknowles@rsmas.miami.edu

Impacts of Atmospheric Reactions on Air Quality ATM/OCE Cassandra Gaston cgaston@rsmas.miami.edu

Impacts of Aerosols on Oceans and Rainforests ATM/OCE Cassandra Gaston cgaston@rsmas.miami.edu

Near-Surface Observations as Probes on Mantle and Subduction Dynamics MGS Adam Holt aholt@miami.edu

Sub-Seasonal to Decadal Predictability and Prediction ATM/MPO Ben Kirtman bkirtman@rsmas.miami.edu

Seismic Velocity Structure and Dynamic Triggering in the Caribbean Region MGS Guoqing Lin glin@rsmas.Miami.edu

Tropical Cyclone Intensity Change: Interactions Between the Inner-Core and Environment ATM/MPO Sharan Majumdar smajumdar@rsmas.miami.edu

Characterizing African Easterly Wave Variability and Environmental Factors Associated with Tropical Cyclogenesis ATM/MPO Sharan Majumdar smajumdar@rsmas.miami.edu

Tropical Cyclogenesis: Processes and Predictability ATM/MPO Sharan Majumdar smajumdar@rsmas.miami.edu

Reef Growth and Sedimentation in the Red Sea Rift MGS Sam Purkis spurkis@rsmas.miami.edu

Climate Change: Clouds, Circulation and Climate ATM/MPO Brian Soden bsoden@rsmas.miami.edu

Seasonal Variations in Aerosol-Cloud Interactions Over the Southeast Atlantic and Their Radiative Impact ATM Paquita Zuidema pzuidema@miami.edu Low Cloud Organization in the Caribbean ATM Paquita Zuidema pzuidema@miami.edu

The full list can be found here: https://graduate.rsmas.miami.edu/admissions/phd-assistanships/index.html

Application is found here: https://www.applyweb.com/miamigrd/index.ftl

Also, if you are interested in signing up for a virtual 1 on 1 session, please click the link below to schedule a virtual meeting with:

  • Dr. Josh Coco (myself): Executive Director of Advancement at the Rosenstiel School, works closely with graduate students but can talk about any aspect of the school. To set up a time to chat one on one virtually with me, please click here:

https://calendly.com/joshcoco

https://nam01.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fcalendly.com%2Fjoshcoco&data=02%7C01%7Cjcoco%40rsmas.miami.edu%7Ca18d03e00fdd4f5befe708d8711c00bf%7C2a144b72f23942d48c0e6f0f17c48e33%7C0%7C0%7C637383712368031563&sdata=atLcVymIplESAmGlloHJiargcN9qg8RROW6b%2FiqlCNA%3D&reserved=0*

  • Kat Grazioso: Completed her Master of Professional Science Degree (MPS) in Tropical Marine Ecology at the Rosenstiel School and now is a program coordinator at the school, and can answer general questions on all programs. To set up a time to chat one on one virtually with Kat, please click here:

https://calendly.com/katgrazioso

https://nam01.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fcalendly.com%2Fkatgrazioso&data=02%7C01%7Cjcoco%40rsmas.miami.edu%7Ca18d03e00fdd4f5befe708d8711c00bf%7C2a144b72f23942d48c0e6f0f17c48e33%7C0%7C0%7C637383712368031563&sdata=wLurGjYf6r80J%2BJldhoHVr4ofC8mr6nZJF3ic4Ba5LA%3D&reserved=0

  • Emma Pontes: Completed her undergraduate degree at the University of Miami with a double major in Marine Science and Biology and a minor in Chemistry, earned her MPS degree at the UMiami in Tropical Marine Ecosystem Management and is now earning her PhD at RSMAS in the marine biology department.

click here: https://calendly.com/emmapontes

https://nam01.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fcalendly.com%2Femmapontes&data=02%7C01%7Cjcoco%40rsmas.miami.edu%7Ca18d03e00fdd4f5befe708d8711c00bf%7C2a144b72f23942d48c0e6f0f17c48e33%7C0%7C0%7C637383712368041554&sdata=GS3kVfpi96PwtShkmEIPo7akfblaZihds%2BtUZ3QGfn4%3D&reserved=0

Virtual tour of campus can be found here (led by Emma):

https://youtu.be/6l9Z029fWEk

https://nam01.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fyoutu.be%2F6l9Z029fWEk&data=02%7C01%7Cjcoco%40rsmas.miami.edu%7Ca18d03e00fdd4f5befe708d8711c00bf%7C2a144b72f23942d48c0e6f0f17c48e33%7C0%7C0%7C637383712368041554&sdata=QlO1%2BscqVFu0mj4X74VgRh9fNv8z1WR%2FVykIgRyVfwg%3D&reserved=0